On Sunday morning it was time to leave Mark to read his books while I went in search of ‘aht’.

IMG_0523I began at the Musée d’art moderne et d’art contemporain (Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art), which was opened in 1990. It is free and well worth a visit.

IMG_0541The collection includes American Pop Art.

IMG_0566An extensive collection of Niki de Saint Phalle.

IMG_0579Lots of Yves Klein.

IMG_0600Cesar Baldaccini.

IMG_0618

What I didn’t realise was that the museum has a wonderful terrace from which you can view Nice in all directions.

IMG_0640Looking north towards the hills.

IMG_0632East over Place Garibaldi.

IMG_0621South over the Old Town and the Colline du Chateau (Castle Hill) with the sea beyond.

IMG_0614West over the new town.

IMG_0524Following my visit to the museum I commenced a walk that took me through Place Garibaldi.

IMG_0660I visited the Port of Nice.

IMG_0671Then I rounded the peninsula with Castle Hill above.

IMG_0678At this point there is a monument dedicated to the fallen of the First World War.

IMG_0672Looking out onto the Mediterranean with all of the sailing boats.

IMG_0688You then come upon the promenade and the beaches.

IMG_0694Looking back.

IMG_0696I walked along the Promenade des Anglais towards the Negresco Hotel with its peach coloured dome.

IMG_0697Fearing too much sun exposure I took refuge in a restaurant to have some lunch.

IMG_0751After my lunch I walked up into the hills to the west of Nice to visit the Musee de Beaux Arts de Nice. It is housed in a wonderful mansion built for the Ukrainian Princess Elisabeth Vassilievna Kotschoubey.

IMG_0714It has a collection spanning four hundred years. Unfortunately the upper floor, which housed the works by Dufy that I really wanted to see, was closed.

IMG_0706Nevertheless it was quite a wonderful collection.

IMG_0734The highlight of my visit. No, not the monumental painting but the small display below it.

IMG_0732Banquette with reclining feline.

IMG_0730He reminded me of dear, sweet, departed Orlando, with a fluffier tail. I loved that he was able to sleep there in the museum and that all of the blue velvet on the banquettes were covered in his fur.

IMG_0726He roused a little for my petting and chin scratching but was happily snoozing away, oblivious to all the very expensive artworks that surrounded him. What mattered to him was some soft bedding and sunlight, with room to stretch out. I took his advice and headed back to the apartment for a quick afternoon nap.

