Tags

, , ,

After my visit to the Minster I continued my walk around York. This building is called St William’s College. It dates back to the 15th century when it was the home of chantry priests. It is now a tea room.

I then visited Treasurer’s House. A property now run by the National Trust, it was originally the home to the treasurers of York Minster. It was last owned by a wealthy industrialist called Frank Green, who filled the house with an extensive collection of antiques and furniture before bequeathing the house and its contents to the Trust.

The salon.

The William and Mary staircase.

The Great Hall.

The Queen’s bedroom. Treasurer’s House is said to be haunted – a workman once saw Roman legionnaires marching through the cellar – a Roman road runs a few feet beneath the house.

I made my way to Monk Bar – one of the most elaborate of the city’s gates. It dates back to the early 1300s.

I took the steps up to walk along the city walls.

The Minster.

Fortifications along the wall.

Following this walk I returned to the Minster for Evensong, then I went to an Indian restaurant called Mumbai Lounge for dinner. That was the end of my first day in York.

