Tags

, ,

Well friends, here is my first report of my four day jaunt to York, a fascinating city with two thousand years of history.

I left home on Monday morning and drove for just over two hours to reach my destination. I made reservations some time ago to stay at the Four Seasons (above) a wonderful B&B run by Bernice and Steve. I am glad I reserved when I did as this place is usually booked solid. It’s the only five star guest house in York and everything was perfect – the accommodation, breakfast, location, and Bernie and Steve are consummate hosts. Set just a little way outside of York’s city walls in a quiet tree-lined street, The Four Seasons is ranked highly in Tripadvisor and was convenient for me as I had a place to leave my car while I wandered through York.

My room was called Winter, but there was nothing cold about it. I liked it because it was tucked around the back of the house and therefore was very peaceful and quiet.

My bathroom.

I was even lucky enough to have my own private sitting room.

If you wanted, you could watch TV from the claw-foot bath!

Having settled in, I then walked into town. York retains much of its city walls and here you can see the northern gateway to the city, called Bootham Bar.

Some of its stonework dates back to Roman times. York was founded in AD 71 and was called Eboracum.

I stopped for lunch at Cafe Concerto, situated on the road called High Petergate, virtually in the shadow of York’s famous cathedral, York Minster.

I ordered the Yorkshire Platter – Yorkshire Pork Pie (cold, of course) with mustard, pickled onions, soaked apricots, salad, a variety of cheeses, Yorkshire ham and lots of freshly baked bread. Delicious!

Next time I will tell you about my visit to York Minster!

