Tags

, , , , , ,

Our final day in Nice was overcast and a little rainy. I left Mark back at the apartment to read his seventh novel of the holiday while I headed north to the Russian Orthodox Cathedral of St Nicholas. It is the largest Orthodox cathedral in Western Europe and was opened in 1912. Unfortunately there was some sort of private function occurring in the cathedral so I wasn’t allowed to go in.

Instead I walked to the Musee Massena. It was still cloudy but I took this exterior shot of the building a couple of days earlier. The grand building, originally called the Palais Massena was built by the Massena family in the style of a Italian villa. It was donated to Nice in the 1920s and became a museum about the art and history of the city.

They call this the English style garden but I don’t recall seeing quite so many palm trees in England!

The building faces the Promenade des Anglais and had lovely views of the Mediterranean.

The main rooms downstairs contain what I believe are their original furnishings. Unfortunately all of the information about the museum and its exhibits were only in French, so I’m guessing.

The rooms are quite beautiful.

I loved this clock.

Upstairs is more like a museum with its displays of maps, art, costume and ephemera all telling the story of Nice. Again, just guessing.

I knew that the Promenade des Anglais originally had a pier complex but I didn’t realise it was quite as big as this! Not sure what happened to it.

Here’s a nice impressionist scene of Avenue Jean Medecin.

This photo shows you the Pont Neuf that joined the old town with the new area across the river. The river has now been built over completely.

Just for comparison here is a picture I took of the square now, Place Massena.

Mark and I had lunch in a brasserie near the apartment and then we had a driver take us to the airport.

I already have a list of things to do next time we are on the Cote d’Azur!

 

