Tags

, , ,

Following my slightly disappointing trip to Cagnes-sur-Mer, I returned to Nice and visited the antiques market. The market is held on Mondays in the Cours Saleya.

There were many antiques on offer but nothing was really catching my eye. Mark and I will sometimes buy a piece of glass or crystal as a souvenir – our Lalique cats are a fond reminder of Paris, for instance.

Then I saw this. A gorgeous signed piece of Daum crystal featuring dragonflies. It was just stunning. I spoke to the lady at the stall and she was asking €350 for it. I wondered if I might be able to haggle her down a bit. Regardless, I only had €100 in my pocket. I texted Mark asking if he thought we could spare the funds for this purchase. He didn’t exactly say yes but then again he didn’t say no – I became blind with desire. I found a Post Office nearby and withdrew cash – usually we don’t use cash machines overseas as we prefer to take money with us (much cheaper exchange rates).

I practised my numbers in French on the way back to the stall ready to haggle. I found the table and looked for the dish – but it was nowhere to be seen. I asked where the Daum dish had gone as I had only been away for ten minutes. The lady explained that two Russian women had just bought it.

Needless to say I was very sad.

