Tags

, , , , ,

Zermatt is situated on a high plateau at the foot of Switzerland’s highest and most famous mountain, the Matterhorn. Despite being a famous ski resort, Zermatt manages to retain the charm and beauty of a picturesque Swiss mountain town.

Only electric cars are allowed in Zermatt and this gives the town an incredibly peaceful (and clean) atmosphere.

Here is the parish church of St Mauritius.

Did I mention that I turned forty? I am almost as old at the Matterhorn.

We took the Gornergrat railway up to the top of the Gornergrat, a ridge in the alps overlooking the Gorner Glacier. Here you can see the station. At over 3000 metres it is the highest open air train station in Switzerland.

Skiers take the train to get to top of the ski runs.

There is also  a hotel and observatory. We had coffee and cake at the restaurant.

Extraordinary views.

We took the train back down to Zermatt, which is about a half hour ride.

We then explored the old town, which still has many original mountain cottages.

We met a lovely snow white cat with gorgeous green eyes. She had heard that Oliver was still single but I told her that no-one would be good enough for my boy, beautiful as she was.

When we got back to the hotel we had a drink while sitting by the fire in their bar. When the bar waitress heard that it was my birthday she brought us three glasses of champagne as a gift.

I had my fortieth birthday dinner with Michelle and Margaret here at Stockhorn.

It’s a very traditional Swiss restaurant. All the meat is prepared on the grill right next to the tables. I had a veal steak and it was the best I have ever tasted. For dessert I had the Tobleronemousse.

Zermatt is such a gorgeous place and it was the perfect setting for my birthday.

