Tags

, , , ,

Here is the view from my hotel room in Geneva, home of the Red Cross (Geneva, not my hotel room), the European Headquarters of the United Nations, and centre of international finance and diplomacy.

My flight was very good – there was no-one in the seat next to me and I was on the aisle, which I prefer. I arrived in Geneva just after 8pm and took a train into the town centre. After I checked into my hotel (very nice by the way) I went for a walk to get something to eat. I also wanted to get to the shores of Lake Geneva to see the famous Jet d’Eau (water jet) but it wasn’t working. Perhaps it is turned off at night or during the winter months.

Here’s a view of Lake Geneva, sans Jet d’Eau. They mainly speak French in Geneva but much of the rest of Switzerland speaks German so I have been practising.

The weather is very mild, only a slight breeze, about minus one degree celsius. No sign of snow or panicking British skiers.

Tomorrow I meet up with my traveling companions Michelle and Margaret. They are in the hotel right now but are sleeping following a marathon series of flights – Adelaide – Melbourne – Singapore – London – Geneva.

More to follow!

