Tags

, , ,

A lot has happened in the last couple of days. I need to catch you up on Friday when I went to the Vatican, and on Saturday, my first day in Florence. For now I can show you where I am staying – I remembered to take photos before I messed the room up!

In many ways my hotel is quite basic but it was recommended by someone we know. It is immaculately clean, if a little dated. It’s also in the best location.

In E M Forster’s novel A Room With a View, Miss Honeychurch and Miss Bartlett were promised a room with a view of the River Arno.

It’s not the River Arno but I think they’d be prepared to swap rooms with me! From my window I can almost touch the Duomo…

…and the Campanile. On the hour not only can I hear the bells chiming, I can actually see them moving inside the tower. Luckily they seem to stop after dark so they won’t keep me awake. I think they’ll make a good alarm clock though!

When I get tired of the view I can look up at the fresco on my ceiling.

My window is the one right up the top in the centre.

Anyway, it’s bedtime now. Goodnight.

