Tags

, , , ,

On the Thursday of my August Jaunt I stopped at Baddesley Clinton, a moated manor house dating to the 13th century.

It was owned by the Ferrers family for much of its history. The building itself has elements of medieval,

Tudor…

Victorian…

…even the 1940s…

I was very interested to see the Priest Hides as I spend a lot of time telling the children about them at Speke Hall. Speke Hall has one Priest Hide but Baddesley Clinton has three! This is the most significant one.

The Ferrers family were Catholic Recusants during the reign of Elizabeth I so they needed places to hide priests if ever the pursuivants or soldiers came hunting for them. This priest hide made use of the sewerage system and was accessed by the upstairs garderobe. A garderobe was part toilet, part wardrobe, part keep for valuables. You should be able to click on the picture to see it bigger.

It was quite rainy by then so I didn’t have a good look around the gardens.

I then drove back home and that was the end of my August jaunt!

