On Wednesday my Australian friends spent the morning around Albert Dock on Liverpool’s waterfront. They visited the Beatles Experience, the museums and the Tate Gallery. I was planning to join them but I had to get the plumber in to unblock a pipe in our back garden.

In the afternoon I took them to Speke Hall.

I then drove them around Liverpool on a whistle-stop Beatles tour. This is St Peters Church in Woolton. It was at the church fete that John Lennon first met Paul McCartney. One of the graves at the bottom of the picture belongs to Eleanor Rigby.

There is some conjecture about whether the famous song was actually inspired by this gravestone or whether it was just a coincidence.

We stopped by the gates of Strawberry Field. It used to be a Salvation Army children’s home but it has been demolished. All that remains are the gates.

This is John Lennon’s childhood home.

We also went to Penny Lane but I didn’t get a picture. I have one here though.

We stopped by Mark’s office at the University and then had dinner at The Side Door. At the end of the evening we said our goodbyes – it had been a lovely few days.

