Today has been a day of extraordinarily changeable weather – gusty wind and driving rain followed by spells of humid sunshine. Given this I was ready to spend a day indoors at two local art galleries: The Dean Gallery and the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.

I started at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, which is a short drive from where I am cat-sitting. This photo is from later in the day, as when I arrived it was grey, wet and windy.

By the time I had finished there the sun was shining again so I thought I would take a walk.

The walk winds along the Water of Leith. It leads all the way to the sea, but I didn’t go that far. I was thinking of going a mile and a half though to Dean Village, but the weather was too changeable.

I am no more than two miles from the centre of Edinburgh.

I decided to stop at this bridge and climb back up to street level.

This is the Dean Gallery, where I had a nice lunch.

Spent most of the late afternoon battening down the hatches at Cassie and Sirius’s place as Edinburgh continued to experience very strong gales.

I have a busy day planned tomorrow. I will ignore any weather forecasts and persevere with my itinerary!

