Took the tube this morning to Green Park (handy on the Victoria Line) and walked up to Buckingham Palace. The Queen is in residence as the Royal Standard is flying on the flagpole.

I hadn’t taken a walk through St James Park before.

A squirrel.

Down at Horseguards Parade they were preparing for the Changing of the Guard. My recommendation for visitors to London is to watch the Changing of the Guard here rather than at Buckingham Palace. You certainly see a lot more here and the crowds are much smaller.

One of the guards fainted in the heat – that’s him being carried away, not just his hat. He was OK though, I watched as the paramedics tended to him.

On the way back up The Mall tourists started to follow elements of the parade – I have never seen old people move so quickly in competition for a good vantage spot.

I beat them though.

All that pomp and circumstance.

I was directly in the sun though – so I think I’m a little red.

I then climbed Wellington Arch. Well, they have an elevator.

Look – you can see right into the Queen’s back garden!

Then I went to Apsley House – Wellington’s home. The State Rooms are quite splendid.

In the afternoon I saw Felicity Kendall in “Mrs Warren’s Profession”. I have mixed feelings. Kendall does a good job but isn’t believable in her angry moments. The play is not one of George Bernard Shaw’s best, and the audience couldn’t always be sure which were the comic moments. Sad ending too.

