We’re in the club lounge at Heathrow Airport, our plane leaves in a hour. Checking in at the lounge at the same time as us was this tall striking black woman covered in furs, wearing stiletto leather boots and dark glasses. I was standing right next to her so I had a good old look – it was Grace Jones! I love Grace Jones and I just recently bought her new album Hurricane. She must be going to Australia to promote it. I didn’t say anything to her – you know, we’re all cool…but I was so excited.
Yesterday was our last full day in London. Mark went back to the archives and I went to Trafalgar Square to say goodbye to the lions. I patted his paw.

img_5667

img_5671

The fountains were freezing over. There were men cutting up the giant Christmas tree too, so it really felt like the end of the holiday.

img_5677

I then did the National Portrait Gallery, which was wonderful. I had lunch at their restaurant which has a fantastic view over London – Charing Cross Station, St Martin in the Fields, London Eye, Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, Nelson’s Column and the dome of the National Gallery all stretched out before me. I then went to Buckingham Palace and the Queen’s Gallery and saw the Cullinan Diamonds – spectacular. Afterwards I took the tube to Kensington High Street and had a walk around Holland Park.

img_5706

We had dinner at a nice local place called Phi – great food.

Well, that’s the end of the trip – just the plane ride to go. It’s been a lot of fun. We’re sad to be going, but it will be lovely to see Orlando and Doris again – we really miss them.

See you all back in Australia!

