We’re in the Qantas Club Lounge and we should be boarding in 45 minutes. I’ve had a nice champagne and a glass of red, plus some blue cheese, camembert and biscuits, a piece of chocolate mousse cake, a mini Thai chicken pie and a mini lamb pizza slice. Shouldn’t have had dinner! On the way through to Qantas Club we also bought me a nice woolen merino hat and a pair of gloves – shopping even before leaving the country!

We’ve had a busy day – last minute shopping, purchased currency, house preparations, London walking tour podcast downloading,washing, packing (I will say nothing about the two carry-on bag crisis!), saying goodbye to Orlando and Doris 😦 . It seems as if we’ve been preparing this trip forever, so it’s nice to finally have everything settled and be on our way. I have a print out of our itineray which is over a hundred pages long…

The taxi driver didn’t have room in the boot for both of our suitcases ( a rather large spare tyre in the way!), so my case had a ride in the front passenger seat. It’s kind of strange watching all your worldly travel possessions being jostled and manouvered into a rather ungainly and awkward position.

At the airport I had to take my shoes off as I went through customs and I nearly had a mix up with the man behind me in the queue who had exactly the same type of laptop as me. Apart from the mix up , so far I’m really enjoying having my laptop with me – I have already clarified a hotel reservation in the time I’ve been sitting here – you get free wireless in the Business Club Lounge. Talk to me again when I have lugged three bags from Heathrow to Paddington Station…

That’s all for now. I’ll see if I feel up to posting at Hong Kong airport!

