I have already posted about my ticket booking for Twelfth Night, The King’s College Choir and the Jack and the Beanstalk pantomime. I firmly believe that if we are spending the equivalent of a house deposit on a holiday I want to get my money’s worth, so planning is essential – and half the fun!

To my horror I discovered too late that Oliver was playing, with Rowan Atkinson as Fagin, but tickets are already sold out, as is the RSC production of Hamlet with Dr Who’s David Tennant. Taking this as a sign that I need to really get onto theatre bookings before everything is sold out, I went on a marathon online booking session. Armed with various What’s On In London web pages as well as the highly informative Theatre Monkey which rates the best places to sit in every London theatre, I booked a few more shows.

First I grabbed a premium seat at Agatha Christie’s The Mousetrap at St Martins Theatre, which I am well aware is known as “The Tourist Trap” but I don’t care. I think the butler did it, but I’m only guessing – apparently the audience is asked not to reveal ‘whodunnit’ to anyone after they’ve seen the play. I only got one seat at a matinee because Mark doesn’t really want to go, plus there’ll be many days when he is working at the Public Records Office in Kew and I’ll need to fend for myself. Then I booked two tickets to Table Manners at the Old Vic, and then a dinner and show at the off-West End Menier Chocolate Factory Theatre to see A Little Night Music. The only thing I feel that I’m missing is a big budget musical – I’ve thought about The Lion King, Hairspray, or Les Miserables but can’t really decide. I’ve already seen Les Mis in Melbourne but really enjoyed it. I’ve seen Phantom of the Opera twice but not in London so that might be an option. I think one day I’ll queue at the Half Price Ticket Booth in Leicester Square and get a last minute matinee ticket to whatever’s available.

